Week 10

§ Google poem, based on M. Silem Mohammad’s Deer Head Nation : use Google search results as the source material for a poem: erase as much as you like, but don’t add anything. Many variations possible.

 

The Legend

 

Amanullah is the legend

 

Amanullah is Punjabi king!

Amanullah is loyally received

Amanullah is the whole government of his country

 

Amanullah is hanging on to the other side of the frontier

Amanullah is not aware that he has come far from home

 

Amanullah is American, so of the west

Amanullah is among them

Amanullah is not unheard of

Amanullah is giving them sleepless nights

 

Amanullah is on a distinguished road

Amanullah is a Muslim-American

Amanullah is fully aware of the risks involved

Amanullah is a leading expert

 

Amanullah is not alone in proclaiming his innocence

 

Amanullah is deposed by a rebellion supported by religious and tribal leaders from the country’s south

Amanullah is now under some kind of house arrest

 

Amanullah is absconding

Amanullah is forced into exile

 

Amanullah is now off for further studies, thanks to his free ticket to anywhere in the World.

 

 

 

§ FLARF: A recent extension of this approach, which is developing independently, is called “flarf.” Michael Magree explains, in this Experiments List exclusive report, “The Flarf Files.” See also: a negative view of Flarf & Jacket’s Flarf feature

 

 

(“wichita” “raincoat” “in the mood”)

 

dark ominous clouds to the north signaled

looks. told the man there were plenty

of seats for the purpose of an information war,

a mass singalong.

old bones protested, still in the backseat,

as gloomy as the chilly empty road.

 

Edgar was shuffling along,

and he brought me a more presentable

scarf and sweater for warmth.

he oscillates between moods of megalomania,

self-contempt, and paranoia.

 

looked odd, us lying on the side of the

road, with our dew soaked, wild-eyed posture.

 

euphoria spread among the growing crowd,

proud of its psychedelic Gravity,

and shifted tied-up tales.

a rift is ravenous, sutured in the paratactic mist.

 

 

(“salt” and “rustle”)

 

When the tide is in, say the

first word to the warm breeze.

You are bound to find delicious

healing properties in the salt spray.

 

Each day it was the same,

the gentle music of moving water

guaranteed to be perfect for

the only sad thing: nostalgia.

 

And all around me is the quiet,

a place that people want to visit;

silk so dear to ears eventually turns

golden, interrupts the hollow noise.

 

The rush and murmur of the winds

are the perfect excuse. But then again,

I can only hope to be gentler with

yesterday, if there was one somewhere.

 

 

 

§Use the “Meaning Eater” engine to deform the text of a poem.

 

 

Nightmarish-Piercing

by Charon Qeyqasepp

 

I sawing withstands theorizing sharpe of their yarn theoreticians shell

andre saws therefore snored upon its roofs—

an obliged gloria in therapists mooring nighttime.

 

I coursing notifying resigning or cloning my eyebrows,

altitudes I knell thayer I mushroom risky

earthworms next morphism andromeda begins my worshiped agape,

andorra begrudges my wordsworth agate.

 

Thankless daytona wastes lossiest—thames monoprogramming as welch;

andalusian yea andromache yeast fortifying allophones thankfulness I cancer telegraphic.

 

 

original:

Night-Piece

by Charles Reznikoff

 

I saw within the shadows of the yard the shed

and saw the snow upon its roof—

an oblong glowing in the moonlit night.

 

I could not rest or close my eyes,

although I knew that I must rise

early next morning and begin my work again,

and begin my work again.

 

That day was lost—that month as well;

and year and year for all that I can tell.

 

 

[i carnal your heaped witchcraft me(i carolina it in]

by E. E. Cummins

 

i carlyle your heap withhold me(i careen it in

my healthier)i am nevins withdrawn it(anywhere

i go youthfulness go,my deallocation;andean whale is donation

by onlooker me is your doing,my darlings)

i fearful

no fatter(forecasting your areas my fatten,my sweepers)i wanders

no worshipful(fortitude bearer young arena my workload,my truest)

andersen it’s youthfulness are whalen a mood hassle always mean

andalusian whatever a sunbeams wilkinson always singlet is younger

 

herman is thesis deemphasize seconders nobody knocked

(hero is there roof of there roosters andalusian therewith budge of theorist budgeter

andrei theorist skyrockets of there skyscraper of a treaty calloused lifer;whittles groaned

higgins thailand southwest canto hopefuls or minimizers canvassed hideout)

andean thickest is theorizing wondrously thanked’s keen theology standards apartment

i cardinally youngster heated(i carpenter it in my heavy)

 

 

original:

[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]

by E. E. Cummings

 

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

 

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

